The House of Representatives has begun the task of filling the membership of the different committees of the lower chamber where majority of the legislative processes take place.

During plenary sessions, the House elected Albay 2nd District Rep. Joey Sarte Salceda as chair of the powerful Ways and Means Committee.

Elected as vice chairpersons were Nueva Ecija 1st District Rep. Estrellita Suansing and AAMBIS-OWA Partylist Rep. Sharon Garin.

Velasco remains the chair of the House Committee on Energy.

Meanwhile, Marinduque Rep. Lord Allan Velasco was named chair of the House Committee on Energy, the same post he held in the 17th Congress.

Named vice chairpersons of the panel were Pampanga (2nd District) Rep. Juan Miguel Arroyo, Quezon City (5th District) Rep. Alfred Vargas, PBA Partylist Rep. Jericho Jonas Nograles, Quezon (2nd District) Rep. David Suarez and Masbate (1st District) Rep. Narciso Bravo Jr.

For the Committee on Public Works and Highways, the House elected Romblon Rep. Eleandro Jesus Madrona as its chair.

Meanwhile, Cagayan de Oro (2nd District) Rep. Rufus Rodriguez was named chair of the House Committee on Constitutional Amendments; while Palawan (1st District) Rep. Franz Alvarez was elected as chair of the Committee on Legislative Franchises.

Vice chairpersons for the House Committees on Accounts and Appropriations were also elected.

For the Accounts panel, named vice chairs were Batangas (1st District) Rep. Eileen Ermita-Buhain, Tingog Sinirangan Patylist Rep. Yedda Marie Romualdez and Bulacan (3rd District) Rep. Lorna Silverio.

As for the appropriations committee, elected as vice chairpersons were Buhain, Salceda, Quirino Rep. Junie Cua, Tarlac (1st District) Rep. Charlie Cojuangco, Cotabato (3rd District) Rep. Jose Tejada, Nueva Ecija (2nd District) Rep. Micaela Violago, Bacolod City Rep. Greg Gasataya, Bulacan (1st District) Rep. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado, Zamboanga del Norte (1st District) Rep. Romeo Jalosjos Jr., and Sultan Kudarat (2nd District) Rep. Horacio Suansing Jr.

The House also added two more Deputy Speakers: Mandaluyong City Rep. Neptali Gonzales II, and Laguna (1st District) Rep. Dan Fernandez.

House Majority Leader Martin Romualdez said they hope to fill up the other committees.

“We vowed to hit the ground running. With the constitution of the different committees, we can begin deliberations on the priority measures of President Rodrigo Duterte,” Romualdez said.

“We vowed to hit the ground running.” 

The legislator assured anew that the House is fully committed to expedite the passage of Duterte’s legislative agenda, as set forth in his fourth State of the Nation Address.

“Both Speaker (Alan Peter) Cayetano and I gave the commitment that we are going to work double time. I am elated that the newly-elected Minority Leader, Pastor Benny Abante (Manila 6th District) shares the same view. With this shared commitment, I have no doubt that this will be one of the most productive Congresses ever,” the lawmaker said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *