Over 5,000 BENECO Consumers Take Oath as New Members of NCECCO – MASONGSONG


Some 5,300 member-consumers of the Benguet Electric Cooperative, Inc. (BENECO) on took their oaths as new members of the National Center of Electric Cooperative Consumers, Inc. (NCECCO).

No less than National Electrification Administration (NEA) chief Edgardo Masongsong administered the mass oathtaking during BENECO’s 37th Annual General Membership Assembly (AGMA).

Established last January, NCECCO is a national movement that seeks to empower all the electricity consumers nationwide.

Masongsong was invited as guest speaker at the coop’s AGMA held at the Baguio City National High School. He was joined by Energy Undersecretary Benito Ranque, BENECO Board President Rocky Aliping, and General Manager Gerardo Verzosa.

In his message, Masongsong congratulated BENECO for earning several awards at the 2017 Lumens Awards of NEA held in Tagum City, Davao del Norte last April 28.

Among the awards that BENECO bagged were AAA EC, Single Digit System Loss for the Year, Best in Collection Performance Award, Lowest Power Rate, and Model Headquarters Facilities Award.

The NEA chief also took the opportunity to thank BENECO for its active participation in the Task Force Kapatid in the aftermath of Typhoons ‘Lawin’ and ‘Karen.’

“Dahil tumulong kayo sa mga ibang electric cooperatives through Task Force Kapatid, napadali ang reconstruction ng linya, napadali ang pagbalik ng serbisyong kuryente sa bawat lugar na tinamaan ng bagyo,” he said.

At the same time, Masongsong also apprised the member-consumers of BENECO of the new direction of NEA that is fully consistent with his seven-point electricity agenda.

BENECO’s AGMA this year carried the theme “A New Dawn for BENECO: Pursuing Global Competitiveness.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *