A task force composed of electric cooperatives (ECs) from Central Luzon is preparing to head north to help restore power in areas left in the dark due to Typhoon “Ompong” (international name: “Mangkhut.”)

Dubbed “Power Restoration Rapid Deployment Task Force Ompong,” the team will augment the manpower of the typhoon-affected ECs and provide the necessary assistance to restore electricity service as safely and as quickly as possible.

The task force is composed of 14 members of the Central Luzon Electric Cooperatives Association (CLECA). Each cooperative is sending a crew of line workers, heavy equipment and vehicles to aid fellow ECs in its power restoration in the province of Cagayan, which was badly hit by the typhoon.

On Thursday, September 20, the Task Force members will gather at the office of the Nueva Ecija II Electric Cooperative, Inc. (NEECO II) – Area I in Talavera, Nueva Ecija for a send-off ceremony before their deployment to Cagayan, where they will spend at least two weeks.

“As the NEA administrator, I cannot help but beam with pride when ECs come to the aid of each other.”

The task force will be supervised by National Electrification Administration (NEA) engineers headed by Engr. Gerardo G. Pomoy (Acting Division Manager of Emergency Restoration Plan) and Engr. Enrico G. Velgado (Acting Division Manager of Vulnerability Risk Assessment) in its restoration efforts in Cagayan.

NEA Administrator Edgardo Masongsong said this is not the first time ECs are extending help to fellow cooperatives in distress.

“Good things come to those who go the extra mile for their brethren in need.”

“This is nothing new to the electric cooperative movement. All through the almost five decades of rural electrification, ECs and their ‘warriors of light,’ the linemen, are on their toes to extend help and technical assistance to our comrades in need at any given time, when the situation calls for it,” Masongsong said.

“As the NEA administrator, I cannot help but beam with pride when ECs come to the aid of each other. As they go forth and help raise the movement’s fallen assets, I wish them well. Be safe. Good things come to those who go the extra mile for their brethren in need,” the NEA chief added.

Latest report from the NEA Disaster Risk Reduction Management Department showed power has already been restored back to 152 municipalities in 19 provinces covered by 22 ECs. Power is also partially restored in 101 municipalities while 79 towns still remain in the dark.

As of Wednesday, the initial damages by Typhoon Ompong to 22 ECs was estimated at P159 million. The Cagayan I Electric Cooperative, Inc. (CAGELCO I) posted the highest damage cost at P40.4 million, followed by Cagelco II with P25.4 million, Abra Electric Cooperative (ABRECO) with P20 million, Benguet Electric Cooperative, Inc. (BENECO) with P16.7 million, and Ilocos Norte Electric, Inc. (INEC) with P15.5 million.

The 14 CLECA members are Aurora Electric Cooperative, Inc., Nueva Ecija I Electric Cooperative, Inc., Nueva Ecija II Electric Cooperative, Inc. – Area I, Nueva Ecija II Electric Cooperative, Inc. Area II, Tarlac I Electric Cooperative, Inc., Tarlac II Electric Cooperative, Inc., Pampanga I Electric Cooperative Inc., Pampanga II Electric Cooperative Inc., Pampanga III Electric Cooperative Inc., Pampanga Rural Electric Cooperative, Inc., Peninsula Electric Cooperative, Inc., San Jose Electric Cooperative, Inc., Zambales I Electric Cooperative, Inc., and Zambales II Electric Cooperative, Inc.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *