Power distribution services in several parts of Mindanao affected by a magnitude 6.4 earthquake on Wednesday evening have been restored, the National Electrification Administration (NEA) has reported.

Based on the monitoring report of the NEA Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Department (DRRMD) as of 8 a.m. Thursday, all electric cooperatives (ECs) that experienced power interruptions due to the tremor are now back to normal operations.

Power co-ops were also advised to activate their Emergency Response Organization accordingly when the need arises.

Those ECs are the Cotabato Electric Cooperative, Inc. (COTELCO), COTELCO-PPALMA, Davao del Norte Electric Cooperative, Inc. (DANECO), Davao del Sur Electric Cooperative, Inc. (DASURECO), Davao Oriental Electric Cooperative, Inc. (DORECO), South Cotabato I Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SOCOTECO I), SOCOTECO II, and Sultan Kudarat Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SUKELCO). 

The NEA DRRMD earlier issued an advisory, directing all ECs in Mindanao to take the appropriate contingency measures to mitigate the impact of the earthquake on their electric service to consumers. 

The power co-ops were also advised to “activate their Emergency Response Organization accordingly when the need arises to implement without delay the appropriate emergency response plans.” 

Moreover, the ECs were required “to restore the electric service in areas, which were not affected by the earthquake but temporarily shut-off for safety reasons.”  

The magnitude 6.4 earthquake struck North Cotabato and several parts of Mindanao.

According to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS), it was tectonic in origin and was recorded at around 7:37 p.m.

Share this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.