Several areas in North Cotabato now have partial power supply following the magnitude 6.6 earthquake that struck Mindanao on Tuesday (October 29), the National Electrification Administration (NEA) has reported as it continues to monitor the situation.

The NEA Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Department (DRRMD) has directed all electric cooperatives (ECs) in Mindanao to observe appropriate contingency measures to mitigate the impact of the earthquake on their power distribution facilities.

“Rest assured that we will continue to monitor the power situation in those areas affected by the earthquake.”

They were also advised “to activate their Emergency Response Organization accordingly when the need arises to implement without delay the appropriate emergency response plans;” and “to restore the electric service in areas, which were not affected by the earthquake but temporarily shut-off for safety reasons.”

Several parts of Cotabato, North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Lanao del Norte, and Lanao del Sur have experienced power interruptions due to strong earthquake.

Based on NEA DRRMD’s 2 p.m. monitoring report Tuesday, electric service is partially restored to areas covered by the Cotabato Electric Cooperative, Inc. (COTELCO) namely, Kidapawan City and municipalities of Antipas, Arakan, Banisilan, Carmen, Kabacan, Magpet, Makilala, Matalam, Mlang, President Roxas, and Tulunan.

“We hope to have power completely restored in the entire coverage area of COTELCO within the day. Rest assured that we will continue to monitor the power situation in those areas affected by the earthquake,” Engr. Federico Villar, Jr., acting department manager of NEA DRRMD, said. 

Power situation is already back to normal in the coverage areas of COTELCO-PPALMA, Davao del Norte Electric Cooperative, Inc. (DANECO), Davao del Sur Electric Cooperative, Inc. (DASURECO), Davao Oriental Electric Cooperative, Inc. (DORECO), Lanao del Norte Electric Cooperative, Inc. (LANECO), Lanao del Sur Electric Cooperative, Inc. (LASURECO), South Cotabato I Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SOCOTECO I), SOCOTECO II, and Sultan Kudarat Electric Cooperative, Inc. (SUKELCO).

The magnitude 6.6 earthquake that rocked Mindanao Tuesday, according to the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS), was tectonic in origin, and struck northeast of Tulunan town in Cotabato province at 9:04 a.m. 

Share this article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.