In compliance with the new policy of the Department of Energy (DOE), the Tablas Island Electric Cooperative, Inc. (TIELCO) will open the competitive bidding for the supply of electricity to Carabao Island, one of Romblon province’s emerging tourist destinations. 

The opening of bids for the competitive selection process (CSP) for new power provider for the Municipality of San Jose on Carabao Island is scheduled this Thursday, May 30, at the TIELCO headquarters in Odiongan, Romblon.

According to Dennis Alag, chairman of TIELCO Special Bids and Awards Committee, there are six bidders declared eligible but only five have confirmed their participation for the procurement of new power supply for Carabao Island.

The National Electrification Administration (NEA), through its Regulatory Affairs Office (RAO), is closely monitoring the conduct of said CSP. TIELCO, which is under the supervision of NEA, is required to submit necessary documents to RAO.

TIELCO stopped the CSP for San Jose last year following the directive of the DOE to redo the process.

TIELCO stopped the CSP for San Jose last year following the directive of the DOE to redo the process in the selection of the new power provider for the island. 

It can be recalled that the DOE, in a letter dated June 4, 2018, directed TIELCO to reconduct the CSP in accordance with the provisions of Department Circular No. DC2018-02-0003.

The DOE circular “Adopting and Prescribing the Policy for the Competitive Selection Process in the Procurement by the Distribution Utilities of Power Supply Agreement for the Captive Market,” took effect on February 10, 2018.

TIELCO is the distributor of electricity in the Municipalities of Odiongan, Ferrol, Looc, Sta. Fe, Alcantara, San Agustin, Calatrava, San Andres, and Sta. Maria, all on Tablas Island, and San Jose on Carabao Island. 

In 2013, TIELCO entered into a 15-year power supply agreement (PSA) with Sunwest Water and Electric Company (SUWECO) for the energy requirements of Tablas Island.

In 2015, SUWECO inaugurated the 8.8MW (mega watt) diesel power plant, located at Barangay Batiano in the Municipality of Odiongan, to address the frequent brownouts and power shortage on the island. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.